Conroy, Reece and Shaw Earn All-Conference Nods

Conroy, Reece and Shaw Earn All-Conference Nods

Full Skyline Release

Written by Andrew Capitelli (SJC-LI Sports Information)

New York, NY| St. Joseph's (L.I.) men's lacrosse midfielder Scott Reece landed on the Skyline All-Conference First-Team, and attack Josh Shaw and defender James Conroy appeared on the Second-Team when the Skyline Conference released its end-of-the-year awards on Tuesday afternoon.

A transfer from Dowling College, Reece led the Golden Eagles with 36 goals and was third with 44 total points. Among conference leaders, the senior finished fifth in goals-per-game (2.77), 10th in points-per-game (3.38) and second in shots-per-game (9.54).

Shaw led SJC in points (60) in its inaugural season, tallying 30 goals and 30 assists on the year. In addition to being the Golden Eagles' leading assist man, the senior finished third in the Skyline in assists-per-game (2.31) and points-per-game (4.62), and ranked ninth in goals-per-game (2.31).

Conroy led an SJC defense that ranked first in the conference in fewest goals allowed (139) through the team's 13 games this season. The Medford, NY native led the Golden Eagles in caused turnovers (25) and was second with 37 ground balls. Additionally, the junior ranked third in the conference in caused turnovers-per-game (1.92).

St. Joseph's wrapped its inaugural season with a 7-6 overall record and a 4-5 conference mark, good for seventh place in the conference and one spot outside of a playoff position. 

2017 Skyline Conference Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team

Name, School, Cl., Pos., Hometown
Matt Haemmerle, Montclair State, So., A, Hillsdale, N.J.
Nick Treon, USMMA, Jr., A, Danville, Pa. 
Ryan Wieczorek***, Farmingdale State, Fr., A, W. Islip, N.Y. 
Dylan De Meo*, Mount Saint Mary, Jr., M, Franklin Square, N.Y. 
Tommy Gallo, Stockton, So., M, Clinton, N.J. 
Brian Mills, Kean, Sr., M, Vernon, N.J. 
Scott Reece, St. Joseph's-L.I., Sr., M, Medford, N.Y. 
Jon Rice, Montclair State, Fr., LSM, Bridgewater, N.J. 
Max Pukenas, Stockton, Fr., SSM, Medford, N.J. 
Blase Mantineo, Montclair State, Sr., F/O, Flemington, N.J. 
Justin Napolitano, Farmingdale State, Fr., D, Ronkonkoma, N.Y. 
Tyler Randolph, Kean, Sr., D, Oldwick, N.J. 
Colin Wharton, Stockton, So., D, Cinniminson, N.J. 
Ryan Young**, Montclair, State, Sr., D, Jackson, N.J. 
Justin Ruiz, Stockton, So., GK, Holmdel, N.J. 

Second Team

Name, School, Cl., Pos., Hometown
Mike Caposella, Stockton, Jr., A, Wayne, N.J. 
Josh Shaw, St. Joseph's-L.I., Sr., A, Bayport, N.Y. 
Brady Wulster, Montclair State, Sr., A, Wyckoff, N.J. 
Zack Aho, Stockton, Jr., M, Shamong, N.J. 
Mike Curry, Farmingdale State, Sr., M, Melville, N.Y. 
Don Finn, Montclair State, Sr., M, Wall, N.J. 
Ryan Bradley, Stockton, So., LSM, Philadelphia, Pa. 
Griffin Woodfinlevine, Montclair State, Sr., SSM, Morristown, N.J. 
Tyler Bollard, Stockton, So., F/O, Philadelphia, Pa. 
Ryan Anzalone, Montclair State, Sr., D, Colts Neck, N.J. 
James Conroy, St. Joseph's-L.I., Jr., D, Medford, N.Y.
James Fitzgerald, Mount Saint Vincent, Jr., D, Cortlandt Manor, N.Y. 
Lance Pecina, Stockton, Sr., D, Clark, N.J. 
Brendan McNally, Maritime, Jr., GK, Long Beach, N.Y. 

* Offensive Player of the Year: Dylan De Meo, Mount Saint Mary
** Defensive Player of the Year: Ryan Young, Montclair State
*** Rookie of the Year: Ryan Wieczorek, Farmingdale State
Coach of the Year: Kevin Zulauf, Stockton (eighth season)