Arbiter and Smocer Named to All-ECAC Second-Team

Arbiter and Smocer Named to All-ECAC Second-Team

ECAC Release

Danbury, CT| Senior Kristen Arbiter and junior Lyndsay Smocer of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) softball team both appeared on the Eastern Collegiate Athletic Association's All-ECAC Second-Team when the organization released its end-of-season awards on Thursday morning.

The duo, which picked up Skyline All-Conference First-Team honors on May 7, was instrumental in the softball team's run to the 2018 Skyline Conference final.

Arbiter, a two-time Skyline First-Team selection and an ECAC honoree for the first time, led the conference in hits (41) and was second in doubles (14) and triples (4). The catcher drove in 24 runs, hit three home runs and boasted a .426 slugging percentage.

Arbiter's .398 batting average was second on the team, bested only by Smocer's .405. The Seaford, NY native graduates with 79 career RBI's, 33 doubles, nine triples and eight home runs in 123 games at SJC.

Smocer ranked fifth in the Skyline Conference in batting average and was sixth in doubles (10) and seventh in on-base percentage (.457). The shortstop collected 10 doubles and drove in 17 runs this season while scoring 19 times.

Scooping up ECAC and Skyline honors for the first time in her career, the Dowling transfer has made 65 appearances with the Golden Eagles over two seasons.  

ECAC Division III Softball Major Awards and All-ECAC Selections

Player of the Year
Vada Blue Sherrill– Pfeiffer University, Jr.

Pitcher of the Year
Jazmyn Rohrer – Westminster College, Sr.

 Rookie of the Year
Rachel Johnson – Washington & Jefferson College, Jr.

Coach of the Year
Monte Sherrill – Pfeiffer University

All-ECAC First Team
Marissa Alpaugh – Cabrini University, Jr.
Annie Pietanza – Salisbury University, Sr.
Rachel Johnson – Washington & Jefferson College, Jr.
Mackenzie McIntire – Penn State Behrend, Fr.
Jess Giordano – Cabrini University, Sr.
Vada Blue Sherill – Pfeiffer University, Jr.
Diana King – New York University, Jr.
Stephanie Fortner – Pfeiffer University, Sr.
Kiersten Fallers – Neumann University, So.
Savannah Toth – Lebanon Valley College, Jr.
Christina Gambino – Wilkes University, Sr.
Jazmyn Rohrer – Westminster College, Sr.

All-ECAC Second Team
Kirsten Drobiak – Springfield College, Sr.
Rachel Johnson – Washington & Jefferson, Jr.
Katie Sterling – Widener University, Sr.
LeAnne Collins – Salisbury University, Sr.
Alexis Ventarola – Manhattanville College, Sr.
Ashley Royer –  Wesley College, Jr.
Lyndsay Smocer – St. Joseph's College-Long Island, Jr.
Kristen Arbiter – St. Joseph's College-Long Island, Sr.

Riley Shields – Alvernia University, So.
AJ Nichols – Penn State Behrend, Jr.
Alycia Feeney – Manhattanville College, Sr. 

All-ECAC Honorable Mention
Jackie Howarth – Ramapo College, So.
Nicole Rice – Utica College, Jr.
Alona Sleith – Saint Vincent College, Fr.
Aysiah Cintron – Cabrini University, Fr.
Kara Molnar – William Paterson University, Sr.
Olivia Zengel – Kean University, Jr.
Ashley Eisenstein – Centenary University, Sr.
Keri Lehtonen – Brandeis University, Jr.
Brianna Holder – Misericordia University, Fr.
Jen Sieminski – Neumann University, So.