Iavarone Garners All-Met Third-Team Honors

Iavarone Garners All-Met Third-Team Honors

Written by Joshua Soto (SJC-LI Sports Information)

New York, NY| Junior Andrea Iavarone of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) women's basketball team was named to the All-Met Division III Third Team and became the first ever Golden Eagle to be selected to the All-Met team in program history, which was announced by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association on Tuesday Morning.

Iavarone's selection comes off the heels of being named to the ECAC DIII Metro Women's Basketball Honorable Mention last March. The junior forward was also named to the Skyline All-Conference First-Team –her third All-Conference selection in as many years –having appeared on the Second-Team as a freshman, and the First-Team as a sophomore in 2015-16.

The Miller Place, NY native finished the season first in the Skyline in scoring (18.3 PPG) and second in rebounds (11.6 RPG).

In an 86-63 win over Purchase College on January 4, the forward tallied career-best 39 points (18th in the nation, most points scored in a single game this season) on a program best 19-24 shooting from the floor en route to setting a new the program record for points in a single-game.

Iavarone's injury-shorten campaign saw her receive D3Hoops.com's Team of the Week honors for the week ending January 8. Iavarone became the first player in program history to earn the honor, which recognizes the best players in NCAA Division III across the nation. She was also selected to four Skyline Weekly Honor Roll mentions and three Conference Player of the Week selections (12/5, 12/19, 1/9) Additionally, Iavarone was selected to the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Divisions II-III Weekly Honorable Mention on December 20 and January 10.

Full All-Met Release


First Team

Kaitlyn Astel, Stevens


5-11, Gr, G


Staten Island, NY

Christina Barone, Mount St. Vincent


5-2. Sr, G


Staten Island, NY

Amely Del Rosario, Lehman


5-5, Sr, G


Bronx, NY

Alyssa McDonough, FDU-Florham


5-7, Sr, G


Parlin, NJ

Christina Pasaturo, Staten Island


5-7, Jr, G


Brooklyn, NY

Katie Sire, Montclair State


5-10, Jr, G/F


Hazlet, NJ

Second Team


Marajiah Bacon, Kean

5-3, So, G


Neptune, NJ

Olivia Colbert, Brooklyn

5-11, Sr, F

Brooklyn, NY

Veronica Ganzi, Baruch

5-7. Jr, G

Glendale, NY

Maria Simmons, Rutgers-Newark

5-4, Sr, G

Irvington, NJ

Kendrea Williams, FDU-Florham


5-9, Fr, G


Piscataway, NJ


Third Team

De'Mean Bond, Kean


5-11, Fr, C


Paterson, NJ

Tyra Harrison, Farmingdale State


5-5, Jr, G


Baldwin, NY

Amy Harioka, NYU


5-5, Sr, G


Danville, CA

Andrea Iavarone, St. Joseph's-LI,


6-0, Jr, F


Miller Place, NY

Ruth Vargas, Old Westbury

5-11. Sr, F/C

Brentwood, NY


Player of the Year: Katie Sire, Montclair Sate
Coach of the Year: Karin Harvey, Montclair State