Cross Country Captures 2011 Skyline Men's & Women's Titles

Cross Country Captures 2011 Skyline Men's & Women's Titles

Christine Cristobal Crowned Women's Individual Champion

BRONX, N.Y. - For the second consecutive year, St. Joseph's-L.I. captured the men's and women's team titles at the 2011 Skyline Cross Country Championships, held today under sunny skies at Van Cortlandt Park.

Led by senior Eric Haun's (28:19.76) runner-up finish, the Golden Eagles placed five runners in the top six and seven of the top 12 overall. Sophomore Evan Haun, the 2010 Skyline Rookie of the Year, finished third in a time of 29:09.47, followed by seniors Mike Merolle (29:20.51) and Jon Heitner (29:24.85). Farmingdale State senior Sean Tiernan defended his individual title as he cruised to a winning time of 27:39.06 on the 8,000-meter course. SJC junior Mike Lombardi (29:36.96) and senior David Sweet of Yeshiva (29:39.27) also garnered first-team All-Conference distinction after finishing sixth and seventh respectively.

St. Joseph's amassed 20 points to seize its third crown in four years, followed by Maritime (84), Yeshiva (87), Farmingdale State (90), The Sage Colleges (116), Purchase (157), Mount Saint Mary (191), NYU-Poly (202) and Old Westbury (264).

On the women's side, teammates Christine Cristobal and Gillian Goodwin finished first and second as St. Joseph's-L.I. seized its eighth conference title in program history. Cristobal registered a winning time of 20:08.10 on the 5,000-meter course, while 2010 champion Goodwin earned runner-up distinction with a mark of 20:23.08. SJC teammates Caitlyn Ryan (20:54.46) and AnnMarie Zigrosser (21:08.61) finished fifth and sixth, respectively, with Zigrosser garnering 2011 Skyline Rookie of the Year honors.

Mount Saint Mary senior Cassandra Gucciardo placed third overall in a time of 20:41.76, while teammate Nicole Zazzero notched a fourth-place showing with a time of 20:47.85. Purchase freshman Laurel Squadron also earned first-team All-Conference honors as she finished seventh overall in a time of 21:47.59.

SJC compiled 25 points and was followed by Mount Saint Mary (38), Maritime (105), Purchase (105), Yeshiva (132), Farmingdale State (134), NYU-Poly (205) and Old Westbury (236).

Jim Crowley of St. Joseph's-L.I. was named the 2011 Skyline Men's and Women's Coach of the Year, while Mount Saint Mary earned the Team Sportsmanship Award on the men's side, while St. Joseph's-L.I. took home the women's Team Sportsmanship Award.

Runners placing in the top seven overall were named to the first-team All-Conference, while runners finishing 8-14 garnered second-team All-Conference distinction.

Men's First-Team All-Conference
Sean Tiernan, Farmingdale State (champion)
Eric Haun, St. Joseph's-L.I. (2nd)
Evan Haun, St. Joseph's-L.I. (3rd)
Mike Merolle, St. Joseph's-L.I. (4th)
Jon Heitner, St. Joseph's-L.I. (5th)
Mike Lombardi, St. Joseph's-L.I. (6th)
David Sweet, Yeshiva (7th)

Men's Second-Team All-Conference
Jake Agosto, Purchase (8th)
Jonathan Afanador, St. Joseph's-L.I. (9th)
William Frederic, Farmingdale State (10th)
Samuel Cohen, Yeshiva (11th)
Michael Buscemi, St. Joseph's-L.I. (12th)
Matthew Taraboletti, Maritime (13th)
Luke Milano, Maritime (14th)

Women's First-Team All-Conference
Christine Cristobal, St. Joseph's-L.I. (champion)
Gillian Goodwin, St. Joseph's-L.I. (2nd)
Cassandra Gucciardo, Mount Saint Mary (3rd)
Nicole Zazzero, Mount Saint Mary (4th)
Caitlyn Ryan, St. Joseph's-L.I. (5th)
AnnMarie Zigrosser, St. Joseph's-L.I (6th)
Laurel Squadron, Purchase (7th)

Women's Second-Team All-Conference
Rachel Sleeter, Mount Saint Mary (8th)
Melissa Bonilla, Farmingdale State (9th)
Emily Stafford, Mount Saint Mary (10th)
Maureen Quinn, St. Joseph's-L.I. (11th)
Jackie Bellisari, Maritime (12th)
Jessica Cowell, Mount Saint Mary (13th)
Ally Waka, St. Joseph's-L.I. (14th)