Women’s Cross Country Wins Skyline Championship, Men Place Third

Women’s Cross Country Wins Skyline Championship, Men Place Third

Written by Andrew Capitelli (SJC-LI Sports Information)

Purchase, NY| The St. Joseph's College (L.I.) women's cross country team placed first and won its 12th conference title at the annual Skyline Conference Championships at SUNY Purchase on Wednesday afternoon.

The women, now with 10 titles over the past 12 seasons, finished atop the team standings in a 6k race that featured 10 competing schools. The men, who finished runner-up a year ago, placed third--behind SUNY Maritime and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy--in the 8k race.

Leading the way for the women was senior Erin MacDonell, who posted a time of 24:24.73 and placed second. The five-time Skyline Conference Runner of the Week earned her third-consecutive All-Conference First-Team nod a year after winning the conference's individual championship.

Placing fifth was freshman Meagan Haviland (24:58.28) who was named Rookie of the Year following a campaign that produced five Skyline Conference Rookie of the Week selections.

Senior Amanda Sprague (25:06.38) and junior Abigail Lehr (25:26.60) placed ninth and 13th, respectively, and both earned All-Conference Second-Team honors.

Head coach Jim Crowley, who founded the program back in 1998, was selected as Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year for the seventh time in his career.

On the men's side, junior Ryan Haun took third place with a time of 27:22.34 and was followed by senior James Dachille (8th, 28:04.84).

Sophomore Nick DeLuca posted a time of 28:13.23 and finished in 10th place.

Haun, the 2015 individual champion, claimed First-Team honors while Dachille and DeLuca appeared on the Second-Team.

The Golden Eagles return to action on Saturday, November 4 when they participate in the ECAC Championships at Hudson Valley Sports Dome in Milton, NY. The women's race begins at 12:00 pm and the men follow at 1:00 pm.

2017 Skyline Conference Women's Cross Country
All-Conference Teams

First Team

Erin Lettieri, Farmingdale State
Erin MacDonell, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Lauramae Cocchi, Mount Saint Vincent
Haley Maerz, Purchase
Meagan Haviland, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Rosa Mykyta-Chomsky, Sarah Lawrence
Nicole Franz, Farmingdale State

Second Team

Tiffany Meier, Sarah Lawrence
Amanda Sprague, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Jemma Fisher, Sarah Lawrence
Nicole Ferguson, Farmingdale State
Angela Barton, Mount Saint Mary
Abigail Lehr, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Katherine Shepard, Sarah Lawrence

Runner of the Year: Erin Lettieri, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Meagan Haviland, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Coach of the Year: Jim Crowley, St. Joseph's-Long Island

2017 Skyline Conference Men's Cross Country
All-Conference Teams

First Team

Austin MacElrevey, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
James O'Brien, Farmingdale State
Ryan Haun, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Sean Hobson, Maritime
Curtis Bates, Maritime
Clive Griffiths, Purchase
John Robertson, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Second Team

James Dachille, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Evan Dunn, Mount Saint Vincent
Nick DeLuca, St. Joseph's-Long Island
David Santa, Farmingdale State
Avraham Raichman, Yeshiva
Adam Al-Haraizeh, Mount Saint Mary
Nicholas O'Malley, Purchase

Runner of the Year: Austin MacElrevey, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Rookie of the Year: Andres Cordoba, Purchase
Coach of the Year: David Lawrence, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy