Nakashian and Woodford Land on Skyline All-Conference First-Team

Nakashian and Woodford Land on Skyline All-Conference First-Team

Skyline Release

Senior Jesse Nakashian and junior Tim Woodford appeared on the Skyline Baseball All-Conference First-Team when the conference released its end-of-season awards on Wednesday morning.

Nakashian, the conference Player of the Week on March 18, led the Golden Eagles with a .371 batting average and eight doubles in 2019. Selected to the First-Team as a utility player, Nakashian recorded a team-best 43 hits and was second on the team with 25 RBI's. His .461 on-base percentage was ranked seventh in the conference.

Woodford finished second in the conference in total wins (6) and earned run average (1.40). Tied for the fewest losses in the Skyline (1), Woodford struck out 49 batters and allowed just eight earned runs all season. The hurler held opponents to a .203 batting average and is SJC's first All-Conference pitching selection since Josh Outsen in 2017.

After posting a 9-9 conference mark during the regular season, SJC entered the Skyline Conference Championship as the fifth seed and was defeated by fourth-seeded SUNY Maritime, 10-9, in the first round on May 1.

2019 Skyline Conference Baseball All-Conference Team

First Team
C - Ryan Rockhill, Maritime
1B - Vincenzo Alteri, USMMA
2B - Dylan Flynn, Purchase
SS - Mike Manetta, Old Westbury
3B - Anthony Palermo, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
OF - Jake Blinstrub, Mount Saint Vincent
OF - Jesse Reinebold, USMMA
OF - Vincent Rice, Farmingdale State
OF - Travis Zurita, Maritime
DH - Michael Grisanti, Mount Saint Vincent
UT - Jesse Nakashian, St. Joseph's-Long Island
SP - Matthew Constantine, Farmingdale State
SP - Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA
SP - Tim Woodford, St. Joseph's-Long Island
RP - Andrew Hunt, USMMA

Second Team
C - Michael Amandola, Farmingdale State
1B - John Condon, Old Westbury
2B - Matt Eng, Maritime
SS - John Santana, Mount Saint Mary
3B - Kyle Cunningham, USMMA
OF - Garrett Aichele, USMMA
OF - John Fitzgerald, Purchase
OF - Vincent Napolitano, Farmingdale State
DH - Matt Mundorf, USMMA
UT - Steven Burke, Farmingdale State
SP - Adam Heidenfelder, Old Westbury
SP - Joe Raab, USMMA
RP - Joe Sarni, Old Westbury

Player of the Year: Vincent Rice, Farmingdale State
Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Spinnenweber, USMMA
Rookie of the Year: Michael Grisanti, Mount Saint Vincent
Coach of the Year: Keith Osik, Farmingdale State (14th season)