Busto, Ceruti, Duda and Ruiz Garner Skyline All-Conference Nods

Busto, Ceruti, Duda and Ruiz Garner Skyline All-Conference Nods

Skyline Release

New York, NY| The Skyline Conference recognized junior Rayneri Ruiz of St. Joseph's College (L.I.) as its 2018 Men's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year when it released its end-of-season awards on Monday afternoon.

Additionally, seniors Justin Busto and Marc Ceruti, and junior Damian Duda earned All-Conference honors.

Ruiz led the Golden Eagles and was second in the conference in total goals (12) and goals-per-game (.667). The forward tied for fourth in the Skyline with three game-winning goals and was tied for third in total points (26) and points-per-game (1.44). In addition to garnering Offensive Player of the Year honors, Ruiz appeared on the First-Team for the second-straight season.

Joining Ruiz on the First-Team was senior defender Marc Ceruti, who started in all 16 appearances this season and anchored a defense that posted a 1.81 goals-against average and kept three clean sheets. The Shoreham, NY native was also a First-Team selection in 2017.

Busto graced the Second-Team a year after taking home First-Team honors in 2017. This season, the midfielder scored four goals and added two assists for 10 points. The Hauppauge, NY native finishes his collegiate career with 45 points in 73 games.

Duda landed on the Second-Team for the second-straight year after posting seven goals and six assists for 20 points. The forward was sixth in the conference in total points and points-per-game (1.11) and was seventh in total assists.

The Golden Eagles entered the Skyline Conference Championship as the sixth seed and were defeated by the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, the eventual runner-up, in the first round.

2018 Skyline Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team
Edens Avril, F, Old Westbury (So.; Hempstead, N.Y.)
Jonah Beberman, F, Yeshiva (Fr.; Highland Park, N.J.)
Connor Doyle, F, Mount Saint Mary (Fr.; New Windsor, N.Y.)
Rayneri Ruiz, F, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Jr.; Bay Shore, N.Y.)
Chris Tavernese, F, Maritime (So.; Garden City, N.Y.)
Parker Gallt, M, Maritime (Sr.; Las Vegas, Nev.)
Kenneth Garcia, M, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (So.; Elmhurst, N.Y.)
Zach Lysakowski, M, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (So.; Reading, Pa.)
Matthew Wyant, M, Mount Saint Mary (Fr.; Beacon, N.Y.)
Marc Ceruti, B, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr.; Shoreham, N.Y.)
Justin Forrest, B, Maritime (Jr.; Lusby, Md.)
Sam Ney, B, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (Sr.; Vicenza, Italy)
Eric Ragogna, B, Old Westbury (Sr.; Bethpage, N.Y.)
Matthew Milner, G, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (Jr.; Mt. Airy, Md.)
Mike Warren, G, Old Westbury (Sr.; East Meadow, N.Y.)

Second Team
Colin Berg, F, Sarah Lawrence (Sr.; Franklin, Mass.)
Damian Duda, F, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Jr.; Riverhead, N.Y.)
Matheuz Georges, F, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (Jr.; Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Anthony Sblendorio, F, Maritime (Jr.; Bay Shore, N.Y.)
Yianni Amvrosiatos, M, Purchase (Sr. Warwick, N.Y.)
Justin Busto, M, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr.; Hauppauge, N.Y.)
Connor Lynch, M, Mount Saint Mary (Sr.; Clifton Park, N.Y.)
Joe Springer, M, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (Sr.; Bowie, Md.)
Rob Cal, B, Purchase (Sr.; Port Jervis, N.Y.)
Dan Cohen, B, Yeshiva (Sr.; Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Kyle Gully, B, Farmingdale State (Sr.; No. Babylon, N.Y.)
Joseph Mesoraca, B, Mount Saint Mary (So.; Oceanside, N.Y.)
Sean O'Neill, B, Maritime (Fr.; Highland Mills, N.Y.)
Scott Flores, G, Farmingdale State (Sr.; Commack, N.Y.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Rayneri Ruiz, St. Joseph's-Long Island
Defensive Player of the Year: Matthew Milner, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Rookie of the Year: Jonah Beberman, Yeshiva
Coach of the Year: Daniel Gwyther, Maritime (fifth season)