Five Eagles Earn All-Skyline Lacrosse Team Honors

Five Eagles Earn All-Skyline Lacrosse Team Honors

Press Release from the Skyline Conference


New York, N.Y. –
Junior midfielder Christy Thoden of Farmingdale State has been named the 2014 Skyline Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year in voting conducted among the Conference's eight head coaches. 

The Skyline coaches also selected Jane Quinn of Maritime as Rookie of the Year and Farmingdale State's Erin Calkins as Coach of the Year. 

Thoden leads the conference in draw controls per game (7.59), ranks second in both assists (30) and points (69) and is third in caused turnovers per game (2.47).  A native of Bayport, N.Y., the two-time Player of the Week selection has tallied 39 goals and compiled 58 ground balls as the Rams captured the league's regular season crown with a 7-0 record.  FSC (17-1) will host St. Joseph's-L.I. on Saturday, Apr. 26, in the finals of the Skyline Championship. 

A two-time Rookie of the Week selection, Quinn has scored 25 goals in just 11 contests and leads Maritime in ground balls (62), draw controls (44) and caused turnovers (38).  The freshman midfielder from Oakdale, N.Y., led the Privateers with 14 goals in conference play. 

Thoden and Quinn are joined on the All-Conference first team by Heather Ferchland, Ela Igdeler, Nicole Lyman and Kristine Minogue of St. Joseph's-L.I.; Farmingdale State's Alyssa Handel and Nicole Marzocca; Kimberlee Carr of Sage; Old Westbury's Sara Bey; Mount Saint Mary's Claire Duffy, Katie Gattoni and Nicole Scicutella; and Jessica Lindsay of Purchase. 

The second-team All-Conference includes Mount Saint Vincent's Laura Carr and Colleen Walsh; Leanne Lavelle of Maritime; Farmingdale State's Jacqueline LaMay, Kimberly Pepe, Sara Rivadeneyra, Brittany Rosino and Krista Spagnoletta; Jena Jacot of Sage; Samantha Rich of Purchase; Mount Saint Mary's Katie McGinnis and Nicole Palmieri; and Tori Gregson of St. Joseph's-L.I.  

Now in her second season, Calkins has guided Farmingdale State to a program-record 17 victories   and a berth in the finals of the Skyline Championship.  FSC will enter its Apr. 26 contest against St. Joseph's-L.I. riding a 10-game winning streak.  The Rams earned a 15-14 win over No. 15 Oneonta State on Mar. 15 and have outscored their opponents by a 291-158 margin on the year.  Calkins earned her bachelor's degree in Sport and Leisure Management from Eastern Connecticut State in 2007.     

Kimberlee Carr, Sage - So., A - Colonie, N.Y. 
Heather Ferchland, St. Joseph's-L.I. - So., A - Selden, N.Y. 
Katie Gattoni, Mount Saint Mary - Fr., A - Old Tappan, N.J. 
Alyssa Handel, Farmingdale State - Jr., A - Medford, N.Y. 
*Christy Thoden, Farmingdale State - Jr., M - Bayport, N.Y. 
Sara Bey, Old Westbury - Fr., M - Merrick, N.Y. 
Ela Igdeler, St. Joseph's-L.I. - Jr., M - Islip, N.Y. 
Nicole Marzocca, Farmingdale State - Jr., M - North Babylon, N.Y.
Jane Quinn, Maritime - Fr., M - Oakdale, N.Y. 
Claire Duffy, Mount Saint Mary - So., D - Monroe, N.Y. 
Nicole Lyman, St. Joseph's-L.I. - Jr., D - West Babylon, N.Y. 
Kristine Minogue, St. Joseph's-L.I. - So., D - Miller Place, N.Y. 
Nicole Scicutella, Mount Saint Mary - So., D - Massapequa, N.Y. 
Jessica Lindsay, Purchase - Sr., GK - Rochester, N.Y. 

Tori Gregson, St. Joseph's-L.I. - So., A - East Islip, N.Y. 
Nicole Palmieri, Mount Saint Mary - Sr., A - Elwood, N.Y. 
Kimberly Pepe, Farmingdale State - So., A - Levittown, N.Y. 
Brittany Rosino, Farmingdale State - Fr., A - North Babylon, N.Y. 
Laura Carr, Mount Saint Vincent - Sr., M - Franklin Square, N.Y. 
Leanne Lavelle, Maritime - So., M - New Windsor, N.Y. 
Katie McGinnis, Mount Saint Mary - So., M - Shelton, Conn. 
Samantha Rich, Purchase - So., M - Providence, R.I. 
Jena Jacot, Sage - So., D - Parishville, N.Y. 
Jacqueline LaMay, Farmingdale State - So., D - Huntington Station, N.Y. 
Sara Rivadeneyra, Farmingdale State - So., D - Ridge, N.Y. 
Colleen Walsh, Mount Saint Vincent - Sr., D - Manchester, Vt. 
Krista Spagnoletta, Farmingdale State - Fr., GK - West Islip, N.Y. 

*Player of the Year: Christy Thoden, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Jane Quinn, Maritime
Coach of the Year: Erin Calkins, Farmingdale State