Hanscom and Panicola Garner Skyline First-Team Honors

Hanscom and Panicola Garner Skyline First-Team Honors

Skyline Release

New York, NY| Three days after capturing the program's first-ever Skyline Conference title, senior Victoria Panicola and freshman Taylor Hanscom of the St. Joseph's College (L.I.) women's tennis team were named to the Skyline All-Conference First-Team when the conference released its end-of-season awards on Tuesday morning.

Additionally, head coach Glenn Nathan was named Women's Tennis Coach of the Year for the second time in his career.

The duo of Panicola and Hanscom was paired at first doubles for the final nine matches of the season and posted a 6-3 record together. Overall, Panicola was 8-4 on the year in doubles play, while Hanscom went 10-1.

Panicola played all but one match at second singles and posted a 7-4 overall record and a 5-1 regular-season conference mark. The senior picked up a 6-1, 6-3 win at second doubles in a semifinal victory over Farmingdale on October 17.

Hanscom appeared at third singles in all 12 matches this season and was 10-1 overall. Entering the playoffs with a 6-0 singles record in conference action, Hanscom's match vs. Farmingdale in the semis went unfinished, but the Patchogue, NY native picked up a crucial 6-1, 6-0 win in the final against Purchase on October 20.

In his 15th year at the helm of the women's program, Nathan guided the Golden Eagles to a 7-3 overall record and a 5-1 mark in conference play during the regular season. As the second seed, his side knocked off top-seeded Purchase, 5-1, in the final.

2018 Skyline Conference Women's Tennis All-Conference Team

First Team
Grace Bradshaw, Fr., Purchase; Ossining, N.Y.
Michelle Carnovale, Jr., Mount Saint Mary; Massapequa, N.Y.
Bailey Frohlich, Jr., Yeshiva; Boca Raton, Fla.
Taylor Hanscom, Fr., St. Joseph's-Long Island; Patchogue, N.Y.
Bianca Harris, Fr., Purchase; Montgomery, N.Y.
Rosa Lettieri, Fr., Farmingdale State; West Islip, N.Y.
Victoria Panicola, St. Joseph's-Long Island; Shirley, N.Y.

Second Team
Alivia Cagliano, Fr., Purchase; Mastic Beach, N.Y.
Sarah Canzone, Fr., Mount Saint Mary; Poughkeepsie, N.Y.
Abigail Cuddy, Sr., Purchase; Mt. Kisco, N.Y.
Katie Murray, Fr., Mount Saint Mary; Highland Mills, N.Y.
Kayla Reidy, Jr., Farmingdale State; Sayville, N.Y.
Denise Trerotola, Sr., St. Joseph's-Brooklyn; Brooklyn, N.Y.

Player of the Year: Michelle Carnovale, Mount Saint Mary
Rookie of the Year: Bianca Harris, Purchase
Coach of the Year: Glenn Nathan, St. Joseph's-Long Island (15th season)